Home Books & Maps Gear World Views Family Travel Gifts Holidays
HOME
The Savvy Traveller is on the road and will return on September 19. Inquiries will be answered and orders filled at that time.

THE CALIPH'S HOUSE:
A Year in Casablanca

Author: Tahir Shah

In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, English travel writer Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems….

Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family a nd bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city’s caliph, or spiritual leader.

With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir’s fantasy–until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it.

Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph’s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to theSahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home.

From Publishers Weekly
When Shah, his pregnant wife and their small daughter move from England to Morocco, where he'd vacationed as a child, he enters a realm of "invisible spirits and their parallel world." Shah buys the Caliph's House, once a palatial compound, now heavy with algae, cobwebs and termites. Unoccupied for a decade, the place harbors a willful jinni (invisible spirit), who Shah, the rational Westerner, reluctantly grasps must be exorcised by traditional means. As Shah remodels the haunted house, he encounters a cast of entertaining, sometimes bizarre characters. Three retainers, whose lives are governed by the jinni, have attached themselves to the property. Confounding craftsmen plague but eventually beautify the house. Intriguing servants come and go, notably Zohra, whose imaginary friend, a 100-foot tall jinni, lives on her shoulder. A "gangster neighbor and his trophy wife" conspire to acquire the Caliph's House, and a countess remembers Shah's grandfather and his secrets. Passers-through offer eccentricity (Kenny, visiting 15 cities on five continents where Casablanca is playing; Pete, a convert to Islam, seeking "a world without America"). There is a thin, dark post-9/11 thread in Shah's elegantly woven tale. The dominant colors, however, are luminous. "[L]ife not filled with severe learning curves was no life at all," Shah observes. Trailing Shah through his is sheer delight.
©Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information
368 pages
$13.00 (softcover)
buy.jpg
TRAVEL SERVICES
GREAT GIFTS
Michelin Red Guides
 

Transit Maps of the World
Great for cartography-lovers and urban travellers

 
Replogle Globes
It's really important to see where things are these days
 

Walker Mesh Bags
Great for packing stuff

 
World Map Desk Pad
EURAIL PASSES
 

TRAVEL INSURANCE

 
TOURISM LINKS
 

Gift Certificates
POLICIES
View Cart
The Savvy Traveller
Chicago, Illinois
Telephone: 773/525-9300

E-mail:
mailbox@thesavvytraveller.com